May 07, 2011

In My Mailbox #5

Drum roll please?
This week's IMM is huge! I got lots of awesome books, that I can't wait to start and review them(:

Sean Griswold's Head, by Lindsey Leavitt

"According to her guidance counselor, fifteen-year-old Payton Gritas needs a focus object-an item to concentrate her emotions on. It's supposed to be something inanimate, but Payton decides to use the thing she stares at during class: Sean Griswold's head. They've been linked since third grade (Griswold-Gritas-it's an alphabetical order thing), but she's never really known him.

The focus object is intended to help Payton deal with her father's newly diagnosed multiple sclerosis. And it's working. With the help of her boy-crazy best friend Jac, Payton starts stalking-er, focusing on-Sean Griswold . . . all of him! He's cute, he shares her Seinfeld obsession (nobody else gets it!) and he may have a secret or two of his own."
-Barnes and Noble.

The Summer of Firsts and Lasts, by Terra Elan McVoy

"Three sisters. One life-changing summer.

Calla loves summer because summer means Duncan. They’ve been best friends for years, but Calla has never worked up the nerve to tell him how she really feels. This summer, the summer before college, is Calla's last chance.

Violet isn't much of a rule breaker in real life. But this isn't real life, this is summer, and Violet is determined to make the most of it. Besides, a little sneaking out never hurt anyone. And sneaking out with James is 100% worth the risk...even though James is completely off-limits.

Daisy has never been the sister that boys notice, but when sparks fly with Joel at the first bonfire of summer, it seems so easy and right. So why is being his girlfriend so complicated?"
-Barnes and Noble.

City of Fallen Angel, by Cassandra Clare

"The Mortal War is over, and sixteen-year-old Clary Fray is back home in New York, excited about all the possibilities before her. She's training to become a Shadowhunter and to use her unique power. Her mother is getting married to the love of her life. Downworlders and Shadowhunters are at peace at last. And—most importantly of all—she can finally call Jace her boyfriend.

But nothing comes without a price.

Someone is murdering Shadowhunters, provoking tensions between Downworlders and Shadowhunters that could lead to a second, bloody war. Clary's best friend, Simon, can't help her. His mother just found out that he's a vampire and now he's homeless. Everywhere he turns, someone wants him on their side—along with the power of the curse that's wrecking his life. And they're willing to do anything to get what they want. Not to mention that he's dating two beautiful, dangerous girls—neither of whom knows about the other one.

When Jace begins to pull away from her without explaining why, Clary is forced to delve into the heart of a mystery whose solution reveals her worst nightmare: she herself has set in motion a terrible chain of events that could lead to her losing everything she loves. Even Jace."
-Barnes and Noble.

The Sky is Everywhere, by Jandy Nelson

"Lennie plays second clarinet in the school orchestra and has always happily been second fiddle to her charismatic older sister, Bailey. Then Bailey dies suddenly, and Lennie is left at sea without her anchor. Overcome by emotion, Lennie soon finds herself torn between two boys: Bailey's boyfriend, Toby, and Joe, the charming and musically gifted new boy in town. While Toby can't see her without seeing Bailey and Joe sees her only for herself, each offers Lennie something she desperately needs. But ultimately, it's up to Lennie to find her own way toward what she really needs—without Bailey. A remarkable debut novel perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block."
-Barnes and Noble.

Along for the Ride, by Sarah Dessen

"Ever since her parents began fighting, Auden has been unable to sleep at night. Now, spending a summer at a charming beach town with her father and his new family, she has to find new places to pass the time she spends awake. And so she meets Eli, a fellow insomniac who becomes her nighttime guide. Together, they embark on parallel quests: for Auden, to experience the carefree teenage life she has missed; for Eli, to come to terms with the death of a friend. In her trademark blockbuster-style, Sarah Dessen creates a powerful and irresistible story of two people learning how to connect."
-Barnes and Noble.

Lock and Key, by Sarah Dessen

"Ruby is used to taking care of herself. But now she's living in a fancy new house with her sister Cora—a sister she hasn't seen in ten years—and her husband Jamie—creator of one of the most popular online networking sites. She's attending private school, wearing new clothes, and for the first time, feels the promise of a future that include college and her family. So why is she so wary? And what is Nate— the adorable and good-hearted boy next door— hiding behind his genial nature? As Ruby starts to see, there's a big difference between being given help, and being able to accept it. And sometimes, in order to save yourself, you've got to reach out to someone else."
-Barnes and Noble.

Hold Still, by Nina LaCour
"In the wake of her best friend Ingrid’s suicide, Caitlin is left alone, struggling to find hope and answers. When she finds the journal Ingrid left behind for her, she begins a journey of understanding and broadening her horizons that leads her to new friendships and first love. Nina LaCour brings the changing seasons of Caitlin’s first year without Ingrid to life with emotion, honesty, and captivating writing."
-Barnes and Noble.

Fallen, by Lauren Kate

"There's something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price's attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah, Georgia. He's the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even though Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce—and goes out of his way to make that very clear—she can't let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, she has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret . . . even if it kills her."
-Barnes and Noble.


  1. Hey Lisa,
    that is quite a nice mailbox!
    I already read CoFA and Fallen and they were okay. But YAY for Sarah Dessen, I adore that woman! The Sky Is Everywhere is on my reading list, too! And Hold Still sounds really good :)

    Here is my IMM:
    Nickey @ The Book Shop Assistant

  2. Nice mailbox. I still haven't read any books by Sarah Dessen yet but I'm planning to. Soon.

  3. What a set! I loved The Sky Is Everywhere. Sean Griswold's Head was great too. I want to read Sarah Dessen.

  4. One of my friends keeps recommending The Sky is Everywhere to me. Maybe one of these days.
    And I wasn't a huge fan of Fallen, but maybe you'll like it better. A lot of people do, after all.
    Enjoy your books!

  5. Great books! The Sky Is Everywhere was my absolute favorite book of 2010. I cannot recommend it enough, so I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. CoFA was pretty epic too and I have to read Sean Griswold's Head still, but have heard fantastic things.

    Happy reading!

  6. Really enjoyed CoFA and hope you'll enjoy it! I was a bit iffy on Fallen but looking forward to what you'll think of it. :)

  7. Hold Still has such a pretty cover and sounds good.
    Sarah Dessen is an author l really need to read a book of.


I love hearing what you guys have to say, so don't be shy and leave a comment!